Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Pleasant Hill R-III Schools

Board of Education

Working...

Ajax Loading Image

 

     

What are some of the powers and duties of a local school board?

Under state law, a board of education has ultimate responsibility for school district operations.

Each board has general powers to:

  • Educate students.
  • Employ a superintendent, administrators, teachers, and support staff.
  • Provide for the safety and welfare of students. 
  • Acquire and dispose of school property.
  • Determine matters relating to school employees and contractors.
  • Control the expenditure and receipt of school funds.
  • Levy local taxes to run the school.
Board Members
Todd Wilson-twilson@phr3boe.com
Lori Redwine-lredwine@phr3boe.com
David Adamcyzk-dadamczyk@phr3boe.com
Deenia Hocker-dhocker@phr3boe.com
Travis Ross-tross@phr3boe.com
Scott George-sgeorge@phr3boe.com
Lisa Vescovi-lvescovi@phr3boe.com
Cathy Jobe, Board Secretary                                            
 

MEETING SCHEDULE                                                                                                                                                                 

Meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. and are held in the Board Room in the District Central Office at 318 Cedar Street, Pleasant Hill, MO.

Regular Sessions Work Sessions
July 18,2023 September 14
August 15, 2023  
September 19, 2023  
October 17, 2023  
November 16, 2023  
December 19, 2023  
January 16, 2024  
February 20, 2024  
March 19, 2024  
April 16, 2024  
May 21, 2024  
June 18, 2024  

 

How are members of the Board of Education selected?

In most school districts in Missouri, voters elect board members on a nonpartisan ballot. The election is held on the first Tuesday in April. Nearly all school boards in Missouri have seven members who serve three-year terms.

 

Who is eligible to serve as a school board member?

In order to serve on a school board in Missouri a person must be a citizen of the United States; a resident taxpayer of the district; a resident of the state for one year preceding election or appointment; and be at least 24 years old. Board members come from all walks of life and serve as unpaid volunteers.